Est. 2003
Home Help Login Register
News: Welcome to ZboX Webhosting.
10 Megs

10 MB Disk
1 GB Transfer
$10.00 per year
25 Megs

25 MB Disk
2 GB Transfer
$25.00 per year
50 Megs

50 MB Disk
3 GB Transfer
$50.00 per year
75 Megs

75 MB Disk
4 GB Transfer
$75.00 per year
500 Megs

500 MB Disk
10 GB Trans
$100.00 yr.

+  ZboX Webhosting Est. 2003. Now in our Fourth year!
|-+  Domania/Amish/PDhomes
| |-+  Amishhosting
| | |-+  what happened? (possible hijacking?)
0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: what happened? (possible hijacking?)  (Read 368 times)
Xena
ZboXian
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 33



what happened? (possible hijacking?)
« on: March 08, 2008, 07:10:24 AM »


I was in my file manager zipping up some directories. I wasn't completely paying attention as I do other things when I'm doing things that are slow on the Webtv

I looked up at the screen and this page was there.

http://www.searchnut.com/?domain=yugiohpics.net

What happened? I looked on Google and saw a few mentions of hijacking/spyware associated with that site.

Logged
ZboX
Founder
Administrator
Posting Maniac
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511


What 'ya got there??


Re: what happened? (possible hijacking?)
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2008, 07:15:39 AM »

I was in my file manager zipping up some directories. I wasn't completely paying attention as I do other things when I'm doing things that are slow on the Webtv

I looked up at the screen and this page was there.

http://www.searchnut.com/?domain=yugiohpics.net

What happened? I looked on Google and saw a few mentions of hijacking/spyware associated with that site.



Xena,
Need more info. Does that come up whenever you go to your file manager? Or did that happen just once?

Bert
Logged

Homepage / Community: http://zboxhosting.com

Contact: sales@zboxhosting.com
"When all is said and done, there's nothing left to say or do!"
Xena
ZboXian
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 33



Re: what happened? (possible hijacking?)
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2008, 07:23:36 AM »

So far it only happened the one time when I was zipping a directory. It happened shortly before I posted here. When I tried again it zipped ok.

Maybe it was a weird one time thing but I'll be paying more attention and post if it happens again.

Logged
castorbeen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



Re: what happened? (possible hijacking?)
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2008, 12:07:12 PM »

Read at Jack's that it happened to someone else,sounds like a webbie problem.

 
Bad redirects   
 
Group: alt.discuss.clubs.public.webtv.technical.offworld- Date: Sun, Mar 9, 2008, 9:56am From:
Someone yesterday mentioned landing on odd websites, diffent from what they had selected. I've had that happen, too.

Just a little while ago, I hit my fav, set up for MyYahoo, and it went to this:
http://landing.trafficz.com/index.php?domain=yahoo.com
Someone mentioned being directed to results from http://www.searchnut.com/ .
I had that happen, too.

These are the sort of sites which take advantage of typos to send you to a page mimicing a search engine which list sites to buy things, presumably to get paid for clicks.

Going through a fav key can't cause a typo. So why are we being sent there?
-
Logged
castorbeen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



Re: what happened? (possible hijacking?)
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2008, 12:09:23 PM »

PS,Bert...I LUV your avatar !!
Logged
ZboX
Founder
Administrator
Posting Maniac
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511


What 'ya got there??


Re: what happened? (possible hijacking?)
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2008, 12:36:14 PM »

Read at Jack's that it happened to someone else,sounds like a webbie problem.

 
Bad redirects   
 
Group: alt.discuss.clubs.public.webtv.technical.offworld- Date: Sun, Mar 9, 2008, 9:56am From:
Someone yesterday mentioned landing on odd websites, diffent from what they had selected. I've had that happen, too.

Just a little while ago, I hit my fav, set up for MyYahoo, and it went to this:
http://landing.trafficz.com/index.php?domain=yahoo.com
Someone mentioned being directed to results from http://www.searchnut.com/ .
I had that happen, too.

These are the sort of sites which take advantage of typos to send you to a page mimicing a search engine which list sites to buy things, presumably to get paid for clicks.

Going through a fav key can't cause a typo. So why are we being sent there?
-

I've had some Webtv weirdness the last few days also. Keep getting mail delivery failures from addy's I know are good. No sure why the redirects are happening. Obviously a Webtv problem. Could be MS IP's are being targeted for the redirect, or it could be a hundred other things.

Glad you like the avatar CB.

~;-)

Bert
Logged

Homepage / Community: http://zboxhosting.com

Contact: sales@zboxhosting.com
"When all is said and done, there's nothing left to say or do!"
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

ZboX Webhosting Est. 2003. Now in our Fourth year! | Powered by SMF 1.0.10.
© 2005, Simple Machines LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Page created in 0.901 seconds with 22 queries.